Taranaki DHB welcomes new board members

20 December 2019

Newly elected and appointed members to Taranaki District Health Board (DHB) were officially welcomed with a mihi whakatau today at Taranaki Base Hospital followed by their first hui.

New members were supported by strong iwi representation from both North and South Taranaki as they were greeted by DHB management, giving everyone an opportunity to meet and mingle.

New board chair Cassandra Crowley, who was born in Kaponga, was recently recognised at the Women in Governance Awards and brings to Taranaki DHB her wealth of business, commercial and leadership skills.

She recently attended the Ministry of Health’s inaugural meeting and induction of all DHB chairs, including 13 new appointments nationwide. The Ministry’s induction programme aims to ensure DHB boards have the support they need to provide strong governance and leadership.

Ms Crowley says she’s delighted to be able to lead such a passionate and talented group of people who all bring their own experience and knowledge to the boardroom table.

The DHB welcomes three other ministerial appointments to the Board - Bridget Sullivan (deputy chair), Carla White and Patsy Bodger; two newly elected members - Paul Veric and Mike Davey; and the following re-elected members - Pauline Lockett, Kevin Nielson, David Lean, Alison Brown and Harry Duynhoven. Te Pahunga (Marty) Davis remains as the chair of Te Whare Punanga Korero Trust (TWPK), Taranaki’s regional Māori health governance body made up of members from each of Taranaki’s eight iwi.

“To have a plethora of skills including local government, Māori health, public health, education and ministerial is both exciting and beneficial to the Taranaki community. We all play a vital role in improving health outcomes for the people of Taranaki and ensuring there is equitable access to high quality healthcare,” Ms Crowley said.

Taranaki DHB chief executive Rosemary Clements is looking forward to the next three years working with the new board.

“It’s great to have retained the experience of some former board members mixed with some fresh blood to help us achieve our vision and goals. DHB governance is a very important job, it’s responsible for planning, funding, and in some instances, delivering health and disability services for the district.  

“Boards also need to reflect the communities they serve, so it’s good to have both male and female, pakeha and Māori representation from all around the region on the board.”

Taranaki DHB Board members from left:
Standing: Te Pahunga (Marty) Davis (Chair for Te Whare Punanga Korero Trust (TWPK), Paul Veric, Alison Brown, Carla White, Mike Davey, Harry Duynhoven, Patsy Bodger, Pauline Lockett, Kevin Nielson.
Seated: Cassandra Crowley (Chair), Bridget Sullivan (Deputy Chair) and David Lean.

Last updated: Friday, December 20, 2019

About Us | Contact Us | Find Us | Sitemap | Disclaimer | Ministry of Health | New Zealand Government | Health New Zealand | Te Whatu Ora Taranaki Private Bag 2016 New Plymouth 4340 | © 2010