Taranaki DHB awards scholarships to encourage careers in health

14 December 2011

Taranaki District Health Board is helping young students achieve their dream of working in the health sector.

More than 20 students will be awarded Taranaki DHB health scholarships which include financial assistance, holiday work and a work experience programme for the duration of their study. 

This year’s recipients are studying a range of areas including nursing, medicine, dental surgery and therapy, physiotherapy, laboratory science, dietetics and midwifery.

Taranaki DHB recruitment manager Charles Hunt says this is an innovative approach to addressing the problem of skill shortage and helping our local young people. ““Health offers some exciting and rewarding career paths. We want to make it possible for some of Taranaki's top young people to reach out and gain qualifications in a range of clinical and health related studies”.

There are currently 18 scholarship recipients working within the Taranaki DHB, and currently 13 scholarship recipients who are now working outside the THDB but still within health sector.

“We have had one recipient graduate into a community pharmacy and she now part owns that pharmacy.

“She is taking on scholarship students at the pharmacy so this is a great result,” said Mr Hunt.

“We want to ensure that Taranaki is always able to attract our highly qualified achievers back to Taranaki, where there will always be opportunities for health professionals to work in a progressive environment,” he said.

Media are invited to attend the ceremony where recipients will be receiving their scholarship on Friday 16th December 2011 at 3pm in the Taranaki Base Education Centre.

For more information please call:
Sue Carrington
Media Adviser
Ph 021 367 789



Congratulations to the following Scholarship Students (Left to Right):
Zara Brouwers, Pharmacy
Sam Lovendie, Pharmacy
Tania Eliason, Nursing
Maggie Radich, Dietetics
Ruhina Leong, Nursing
Katherine Whaley, Nursing
Johanna Tonks, Nursing
Sophie Trolove, Physiotherapy
Sarah Cox, Nursing
Nicoel Muller, Nursing
Alinda Coetzee, Dental Surgery
Duncan MacDonald, Medicine
Janice Ferens, Nursing
Kirsty Wood, Medicine

Absent from photo: Grace Maha (Midwifery), Catherine Roguski (Midwifery), Kritesh Kumar (Medicine), Hew Price (Medicine), Greg Taylor (Medicine), Melissa Surrey (Medical Laboratory Science) and Kelly Gray (Physiotherapy).

Last updated: Tuesday, December 20, 2011

DHB - About Us | Contact Us | Find Us | Sitemap | Disclaimer | Ministry of Health | newzealand.govt.nz | Taranaki DHB Private Bag 2016 New Plymouth 4342 | © 2010