Taranaki DHB Elections 2019

Notice of Day of Election (PDF 102 KB)

This year, voting takes place to elect members to 19 of the 20 District Health Boards (DHBs), the governing bodies responsible for overseeing the delivery of health and disability services in their districts.

Taranaki DHB’s governing body is made up of 11 members. Seven of those are elected ‘at large’ (i.e. by all the district’s voters). The remaining members are determined by ministerial appointments. Each Board must have at least two Maori members, whom the Minister will appoint if they are not elected.

Board members play a critical leadership role in the health system and their effectiveness in the next three years will have a crucial role in the health sector’s work to improve the health status of all New Zealanders.

The Board is accountable to the Minister of Health for its organisation’s performance in planning, funding and delivering health services to their communities, and for promoting their communities’ health status.

Taranaki DHB candidates for 2019 election:
(11 seats, 7 elected and up to 4 chosen by Minister of Health): Alison Brown, Debra Burton, Mike Davey, Harry Duynhoven, Bev Gibson, Rawinia Henderson, Te Aroha Hohaia, Linda Jones, Rusty Kane, David Lean, Pauline Lockett, Kevin Nielsen, Bridget Sullivan, Graeme Hamilton Sykes, Howie Tamati, Paul Veric, Graham Walker


Last updated: Wednesday, August 28, 2019

DHB - About Us | Contact Us | Find Us | Sitemap | Disclaimer | Ministry of Health | New Zealand Government | Taranaki DHB Private Bag 2016 New Plymouth 4342 | © 2010